Wyoming Gaming Commission Agrees on Modified Set of Rules For Sports Betting

Person Browsing a Sports Betting Site on a Tablet

The Wyoming Gaming Commission agreed on a modified set of rules that will establish the framework for the state’s online-only legal sports betting.

Said Wyoming Gaming Commission Executive Director Charles Moore:

“We appreciate the hard work everyone has put into this. We still are on track for the September 1 deadline.”

By approving the rules, the Commission is staying on track of the deadline and it is likely that Wyoming sports betting will be up and running for the start of the 2021 NFL season. However, there are still hurdles to overcome.

Second Online-Only Sports Betting State

The rules must now be sent to Gov. Gordon for review, which will be done on Friday. The public will also have a 45-day window to make their comments. Once everything is in order, it could take a couple of months to get Wyoming sports betting up and running.

Moore was non-committal to a question on when the commission will start accepting licence applications. Once it launches, Wyoming will only be the second online-only legal sports betting state after Tennessee.

Launching Before the Broncos’ First Game

Representatives initially voted down HB 133 but they later reconsidered it and passed the bill 32-4 one day later on March 10, 2021. The Wyoming senate then approved the legal measure 24-5 on March 29th while Governor Gordon signed the bill into a law last April 15, 2021.

During the legislative process, the Wyoming Gaming Commission agreed to finish crafting the regulatory framework for Wyoming sports betting by September 1st, with the intention of launching by the time the Denver Broncos play their first game of the 2021 NFL season on September 12th.

Wyoming Sports Betting

The main difference between Wyoming sports betting and most states that have legalized sports wagering is the minimum age for bettors in the Cowboy State which is 18 years old. Otherwise, Wyoming sports betting is largely based on the legislation passed last year in Colorado.

The Wyoming Gaming Commission shall not issue less than five sports betting operator permits. Only gambling companies with an existing presence in at least three other states are allowed to operate Wyoming sports betting. Operators will pay an initial $100,000 fee for a five-year online only sports betting license. Renewal fee is at $50,000 while the state will collect a 10% tax on Wyoming sports betting revenues.