A Guide for the 2022 Miami Open

Miami Open Logo on Top Left Tennis Ball Sitting on a Line of a Court in Center Overhead View of Hard Rock Arena on Left

The BNP Paribas Open, also known as the Indian Wells Masters, is currently in the Quarterfinal rounds. With the action in action in California wrapping up, that means the Miami Open is just around the corner.

Collectively, the two events make up what is commonly referred to as the “Sunshine Double.” They mark the start of the ATP Tour Masters 1000 circuit. The two events are also a part of the WTA 1000 circuit.

With the Indian Wells Master wrapping up next week, now is a perfect time to take an in-depth look at the upcoming 2022 Miami Open. Keep reading for a breakdown of all the action taking place in Miami next week.

What Is the Miami Open?

Those new to professional tennis may be unfamiliar with what the Miami Open is. The event started in 1985 and has become one of the biggest events in both Men’s and Women’s tennis. As part of the “Sunshine Double”, the Miami Open is one of the first events in both pro circuits.

The Miami Open traditionally follows the Indian Wells Masters. In the Men’s division, the “Sunshine Double” is the first event in the ATP Tour Masters 1000 circuit. For Women’s tennis, the Miami Open is the third event of the WTA 1000 circuit.

For more than three decades, the Miami Open was held at the Tennis Center at Crandon Park in Key Biscayne. In 2019, the event moved to Miami and is now played at the Hard Rock Stadium. The change in venue was necessary for the event to keep up with other major tournaments.

This year’s Miami Open is scheduled to start on March 21st. The event lasts nearly two weeks, with the finals scheduled for April 3rd. The tournament features more than 70 of the top men’s and women’s tennis players from across the globe.

Who Is Competing at the 2022 Miami Open?

The Miami Open is one of the first major tennis events of the year. Unfortunately, the timing of the event can often cause many of the best players to miss the tournament. This year, neither of the top-ranked men’s and women’s players will be competing.

Rafael Nadal (+150) is the betting favorite to win the Indian Wells Masters. However, Nadal will not be making the trip to Miami to compete next week. On the women’s side, Polish tennis star Iga Świątek (+185) has the shortest odds to win the BNP Paribas Open. Świątek is currently scheduled to compete in Miami. For help finding the best tennis betting odds, check out our rankings of the best online sports betting sites.

Tennis Player Rafael Nadal

Despite missing some of the big-name stars, there will still be plenty of talent competing at the Miami Open. In addition to Świątek, the women’s field will also include Aryna Sabalenka and Barbora Krejcikova. Sabalenka and Krejcikova are both ranked in the top-3 of women’s tennis players. Fan-favorite Naomi Osaka is also scheduled to compete.

On the men’s side, second-ranked Novak Djokovic will join Nadal on the list of stars not competing. However, top-ranked Daniil Medvedev is scheduled to compete. Alexander Zverev and Stefanos Tsitsipas are also likely to compete. Both Zverev and Tsitsipas are ranked in the top-5.

Past Winners of the Miami Open

The Miami Open features some of the best men’s and women’s singles competitors in the world. It also features many of the best doubles players in both categories. The event initially featured mixed doubles but has not done so since 1989.

In the men’s singles division, the first Miami Open winner was Tim Mayotte in 1985. Since then, two men are tied for most all-time wins at the event. Andre Agassi and Novak Djokovic have each won the tournament a record six times. The most recent winner of the Miami Open was Hurbert Hurkacz. He will look to go back-to-back as he prepares to compete this year.

The first women’s singles competition at the Miami Open was won by Martina Navratilova in 1985. It would be Navratilova’s only singles win at the Miami Open in her career. The woman with the most wins at the Miami Open is Serena Williams. She has won the event a total of eight times in her career. Last year’s winner was Ashleigh Barty, who also won the event in 2019. The event was canceled in 2020. Unfortunately, Barty will not have a chance at a three-peat as she has withdrawn from the tournament.

Doubles competitions also have their place at the Miami Open. The first men’s doubles in 1985 were won by the team of Paul Annacona and Christo van Rensburg. In recent years, the men’s doubles event has largely been dominated by the team of Bob and Mike Bryan. The twin brothers have won the event a record six times. All of their wins have come in pairs, going back-to-back on three separate occasions. However, the Bryans are now retired. In 2021, the men’s doubles were won by the Croatian team of Nikola Mektić and Mate Pavić.

On the women’s side, the doubles tournament has seen one woman, Jana Novotná, win the event a total of seven times. Novotná has earned her wins at the Miami open with four different partners over her career. There are four teams tied for most wins at the event, and three of them feature Novotná. The only pairing with two wins that does not include the late Czech star is the team of Lisa Raymond and Samantha Stosur.

In 1985, the first women’s double event was won by the pairing of Gigi Fernández and Martina Navratilova. Navratilova also won the mixed doubles that year, giving her three first-place finishes at the event. The most recent winners of the event are Shuko Aoyama and Ena Shibahara.

What Are the Prizes for Winning the Miami Open?

The Miami Open has seen plenty of high-profile tennis stars compete throughout the years. For their efforts, players are rewarded with both cash prizes. Players can also earn ATP or WTA points based on their performance. The Miami Open is the third-highest level of event in both the ATP and WTA tours.

Last year, the prize money was diminished as a side effect of the pandemic. However, this year’s prizes have rebounded. In the singles competitions, both the men’s and women’s winners will receive a whopping $1.2 million in prize money. Second place will be paid just over $646 thousand, and the semi-final participants will earn nearly $343 thousand.

Participants in the doubles competitions will not see quite as much scratch, but they can still earn a pretty penny. Last year, the winners of the Miami Open doubles competitions earned over $425 thousand. Second place was awarded over $225 thousand, and the semi-final teams won $120 thousand.

Tennis Court With Many Tennis Balls on the Ground

Cash is not the only thing up for grabs at the Miami Open. Players will also earn ATP points for each round they advance. In the singles tournament, the winning players will receive 1,000 points. The runners-up in at the Miami open will still earn 600 points. Players eliminated in the semi-final round will be awarded 360 points.

Doubles participants can also earn ATP points at the Miami Open. The winning team will be awarded 1,000 points, with second place earning 600. Teams that loss in the semi-final will still take home 360 points. However, teams must make it to at least the round of 16 to earn any points.


The 2022 Miami Open officially begins next week. With the second half of the “Sunshine Doubles” about the start, fans are in for a ton of great matches. The tournament will also offer plenty of great opportunities for betting on tennis. For more news about the world of tennis, keep an eye on our sports section.